APTA announces winners of Advocacy Champion Awards

© Shutterstock

The American Public Transportation Association (APTA), a nonprofit organization of more than 1,500 public and private sector members, announced the winners of the 2023 Advocacy Champion Awards on Tuesday at its Legislative Conference in Washington, DC.

“Investment in public transportation remains critical for America’s future strength and prosperity, and we applaud this year’s Advocacy Champions for their extraordinary commitment to infrastructure improvements for passenger connectivity around the country,” APTA President and CEO Paul P. Skoutelas said.

The awards recognize members of Congress for efforts that strongly support public transportation and increase investment in public transit, passenger rail, and multimodal infrastructure.

The winners are U.S. Sen. Susan M. Collins (R-ME), Committee on Appropriations vice chairwoman; U.S. Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL), former Subcommittee on Transportation, Housing and Urban Development, and Related Agencies chairman and ranking member; U.S. Sen. Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), former Subcommittee on Transportation and Safety, Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation ranking member; U.S. Sen. Patty Murray (D-WA), Committee on Appropriations chairwoman; and U.S. Del. Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC), Subcommittee on Highways and Transit ranking member and former chairwoman.

This year’s winners helped enact COVID-19 emergency relief funding, the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law, and the Transportation, Housing and Urban Development Appropriations Acts.