Michigan Gov. Whitmer appoints 10 to Council on Future Mobility and Electrification

© Shutterstock

Michigan Governor Gretchen Whitmer announced the appointment of 10 people to the Michigan Council on Future Mobility and Electrification Thursday, furthering the state’s move to remain a leader in mobility issues.

The council will focus on autonomous and connected vehicle technology, electric powertrain technology and charging infrastructure, and shared and transit mobility options.

“Today’s announcement builds on progress we’ve made this year to cement our status as a hub for innovation and opportunity in the mobility sector, including the launch of the Office of Future Mobility and Electrification and our efforts to build the road of the future between Detroit and Ann Arbor,” Whitmer said. “In Michigan, where the health of our workers and our economy are directly tied to the health of our auto industry, we will continue engaging in forward-looking policies to remain on the cutting edge of mobility and electrification growth in the state. Since I was sworn in as governor, we have brought in historic investments to our auto plants, creating more than 12,000 Michigan jobs. I will continue working closely with everyone who wants to grow our workforce and economy.”

The announcements stem from a February 2020 Executive Order Whitmer signed that created the Council. Housed within the Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity, it replaced the Council on Future Mobility. The council will serve in an advisory capacity to LEO and the Office of Future Mobility and Electrification. It will give annual reports on its recommendations on changes in state policy.

“The strength of Michigan’s mobility ecosystem is the collaboration that you find happening all across the state, as technology continues to evolve and transportation options grow,” said Lt. Governor Garlin Gilchrist II. “We work together to solve real problems for our residents, our businesses and our communities and to advance our state’s technology and the automotive landscape in a way that also has the potential to improve the quality of life for countless individuals in Michigan.”

The appointees are:
• Robert F. Babik, of Ann Arbor, the executive director of global regulatory affairs and sustainability for General Motors.
• Stephen J. Bartoli, of Birmingham, vice president of global greenhouse gas compliance for the Fiat Chrysler Automobiles Group (FCA).
• Patrick Cadariu, of Detroit, head of vehicle and trucking supply chain operations for Waymo.
• Derek S. Caveney, Ph.D., of Plymouth, executive engineer for Toyota’s North American operations.
• Cory Connolly, of Detroit, vice president of policy at the Michigan Energy Innovation Business Council.
• Jeffrey A. Dokho, of Huntington Woods, research director for the United Auto Workers American Labor Union.
• Emily Frascaroli, of Grosse Ile, managing counsel of the Product Litigation Group at Ford Motor Company.
• Chris Nevers, of Dundee, director of environmental engineering and policy at Rivian Automotive.
• Huei Peng, Ph.D., of Ann Arbor, professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Michigan and the director of Mcity.
• Satish S. Udpa, Ph.D., of Okemos, distinguished professor at Michigan State University and a fellow and editor for the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.

Also on the Council are Senate Majority Leader Ken Horn, Senate Minority Leader Mallory McMorrow, Speaker of the House Jim Lilly, House Minority Leader Abdullah Hammoud, and the Directors from the Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity, Transportation, Insurance and Financial Services, State Police, Treasury, Environment, Great Lakes and Energy, as well as the chairman of the Michigan Public Service Commission.